Ennis College Further Education
Home » Breaking News » GALLERY: Tulla advance as rivals draw in first division
Moher Celtic's John Kerin in action against Tulla Utd's Fionn Ryan. Photographs by Natasha Barton

GALLERY: Tulla advance as rivals draw in first division

Ennis College Further Education

Tulla United’s hopes of securing the First Division crown and promotion to the Premier Division received a huge boost when they overcame Moher Celtic in a tight encounter.

The winners enjoyed the perfect start when Darragh Murphy’s industry gave Conor Whelan a goalscoring opportunity which was duly taken as Tulla struck first after five minutes.

Their second goal came before the break with Fionn Ryan sending James Wallace in behind the Moher defence before Wallace powered through and rounded Moher goalkeeper Shane Keane before his left footed strike caused the net to bulge.

Both sides had chances in a competitive second half with Tulla ‘keeper it took a couple of Simon Kilker needing to be on form to keep his side’s lead intact. Moher got a consolation goal in the concluding stages when a deflected Eoin Davies strike found its way to the net.

Top of the table Tulla are at home to Coole FC next while Moher Celtic are not in action this weekend.

Tulla United: Simon Kilker, Adam McNamara, Ray Bane, Darragh Corry, Fionn Ryan, Jack McSweeney, James Wallace, Darragh Murphy, Craig McNamara, Dan Withycombe, Conor Whelan.
Subs: Diarmuid Molloy for Fionn Ryan, Eoin Hassett for Craig McNamara, Eanna Culloo for Conor Whelan, Eoghan Ryan for Dan Withycombe, TJ Dillon for James Wallace.

Moher Celtic: Shane Keane, Joshua Vaughan, Mike Keating, Brian Leyden, Niall Canavan, Mattie Kinch, Tom Hanrahan, David McNamara, Francesco Bonito, Oisín Leyden, John Kerin.
Subs: Michael Davenport for Brian Leyden, Ryan Barry for Mattie Kinch, Brian Considine for Michael Davenport, Eoin Davies for John Kerin, Noel Hynes for David McNamara.

Meanwhile Kilrush Rangers and Newmarket Celtic B played out an exciting 2-2 draw that sees both sides slip further away from Tulla United at the top of the First Division.

Newmarket went ahead after 10 minutes when Conor Mc Carthy finished smartly from a tight angle. At this stage of the game Newmarket were well on top with Kilrush finding it hard to settle into the contest.

However, Kilrush managed to withstand the early pressure with John Kelleher starring in the heart of the defence. Their hard work paid off on 25minutes when Dylan Russell scored.

At the start of the second half Newmarket Celtic took the lead again when a deflected Oisín Kavanagh free kick from the edge of the box ended up in the Kilrush net.

As in the first half Newmarket took a hold of the game forcing Kilrush to defend for long periods of the game. Around the mid point of the half Kilrush began to grow in confidence and gain a foothold in the contest.

The goal Kilrush craved came in the 80th minute when a long throw from Norbert Kunicki found the head of Liam Madigan to head to the net. Neither side were able to force a winner as the spoils were shared. With two sides gaining automatic promotion, Kilrush sit four points behind second placed Coole FC having played two games extra.

Newmarket’s B team cannot be promoted to the Premier Division under the current regulations but they sit seven points behind leaders Tulla United having played a game more.

Kilrush Rangers: Eamonn O’Dea, Niall Rose Norbert Kunicki, Patrick Clair, John Kelleher, Dean Neary Trevor Clancy Liam Madigan Dylan Russell Ewan Kelly Jamie Griffin.
Subs: Jack Cleary for Ewan Kelly, Kyle McKernan for Niall Rose, Tomack Ajas for Patrick Clair, Filip Ryzmek for Dean Neary.

Newmarket Celtic B: Alan Reidy, Liam Harkin, Jamie Cronin, Liam O’Connor, Oisin Cavanagh, Lee Cronin, Cian Foley, Killian Howard, Conor McCarthy, Seamus Considine, Lee Cregan.


Check Also

Posing at Batsford Arboretum

The London adventure begins…

Well, I was rudely awakened very early one Monday morning and after a flurry of …