Home » Sports » Footballers feature four debutants
Martin O' Leary will make his Munster championship debut against Waterford in Cusack Park on Saturday at 7pm

Footballers feature four debutants

THE Clare senior footballers starting team and subs were named after training in Cusack Park on Thursday evening ahead of Saturday’s provincial quarter-final meeting with Waterford in Cusack Park. Four players will make their Munster championship debuts while Joe Hayes returns in goals at the expense of Pierce Deloughrey, who was in goals for the league campaign. Jamie Malone, Ciaran Russell and Martin O’Leary are pencilled in to make their championship debuts at midfield, wing back and in the full forward line respectively.

Podge Collins will also make his Munster senior football championship debut. His brother Seán, who played championship in 2009, has been named at wing forward while his younger brother will wear number 15.

Joe Hayes (Lissycasey); Dean Ryan (Éire Óg), Kevin Hartnett (Meelick), Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane); Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Gordon Kelly (Miltown), Ciaran Russell (Éire Óg); Gary Brennan (Clondegad – captain), Jamie Malone (Corofin); Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Seán Collins (Cratloe); Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), David Tubridy (Doonbeg), Podge Collins (Cratloe).

Subs: Pierce Deloughrey (Cratloe), Shane Brennan (Clondegad), Rory Donnelly (Cooraclare), Podge McMahon (Clondegad), Laurence Healy (Ennistymon), Shane McNeilis (Kildysart), Barry Hartnett (Meelick), Eoin Cleary (Miltown), Seán Haugh (O’Curry’s), Brian Carrig (Clondegad), Darren O’Neill (Éire Óg).

Clare v Waterford will throw in at 7pm on Saturday in Cusack Park.

Check Also

Preview Of Clare Intermediate Hurling Championship Action

Eoghan Moloney looks ahead to this weekend’s Clare Intermediate Hurling Championship action with semi-final places …

error: Content is protected !!