Home » Sports » First Youths Cup title for Bridge United

First Youths Cup title for Bridge United

Bridge Utd 2 Tulla Utd 1

BRIDGE United won their first-ever Clare Youths Cup title on Saturday overcoming a strong Tulla side in a tie which saw all the goals arriving in the final 10 minutes of play. Defences had been on top for most of the game with Darren Murphy outstanding for the Bridge.
Darragh Fitzgerald excelled in midfield and displayed all the skills and composure that have propelled him to the junior side this year.
Kieran Quinlan was very unlucky to have a goal ruled out for offside on 20 minutes and following a Jamie O’Gorman pass, Andy O’Sullivan saw his effort expertly saved by impressive Tulla keeper, Shane Collins
Bridge goalkeeper Mike Fitzpatrick was equally impressive and dealt with everything that came his way. The deadlock was broken on 84 minutes when Jamie O’Gorman crossed and found Andy Sullivan free. His effort smashed off the crossbar substitute Kieran Lake was on hand to slot home.
As the game entered injury time, Tulla equalised when a corner from the right by Thomas McKeown was headed to the net by Tulla midfielder, Niall Whelan.
With extra time looming and having played four minutes injury time, a long ball out of defence found Jamie O’Gorman. He showed great composure to rifle a shot to the top corner from the edge of the box to secure the win. The final whistle was met with huge celebrations from the players, management and large Bridge support.
In his acceptance speech after receiving the Michael O’Gorman Cup, impressive full-back and captain Daniel Larkin thanked Tulla, the players and management and all the travelling support.
The man-of-the-match award went to match winner, Jamie O’Gorman.
Half an hour into the game, play was delayed for a further half an hour after Tulla midfielder Aidan Fawl suffered a suspected broken leg. Both teams returned to their dressing rooms as Aidan was attended and then removed by ambulance to hospital.

Bridge Utd: Mike Fitzpatrick, Daniel Larkin, Darren Murphy, Stuart Cahill, Eamonn O’Donoghue, Andy O’Sullivan, Darragh Fitzgerald, Alan Mulready, Seamus Barrett, Kieran Quinlan, Jamie O’Gorman.
Subs: Kieran Lake for Barrett, Trevor Purcell for Quinlan, Brian O’Connell, Derek Enright, Keith Slattery, Iain O’Sullivan, Enda Boyce, John Mulready.
Tulla United: Shane Collins; Thomas McKeown, Brian McInerney, Padraic O’Malley, David McInerney; Niall Whelan, Killian Bane, Aidan Fawl, Sunny Jay, Darragh Corry, Donnacda McNamara.
Subs: Patrick McGrath for Fawl.
Referee: Michael Rock.assistant referees: Michael Monaghan, Frankie Coote.


About News Editor

Check Also

Ennis get local bragging rights after Kilrush clash

A STRONGLY contested derby between Ennis and Kilrush went the way of the former as …