Home » Sports » Donal Og Cusack joins Clare backroom team
Donal Og Cusack has resigned as Clare hurling coach

Donal Og Cusack joins Clare backroom team

Donal Og Cusack from Cork is the new coach to the Clare senior hurling team. In a statement issued this Bank holiday Monday, the former Cork custodian has been named as coach selector in Davy Fitzgerald’s management team for 2016.

A winner of minor, under 21 and three All-Ireland senior medals, five Munster senior medals and two All-Star awards as goalkeeper the Cloyne man has been a member of the RTE Sunday Game panel for the past two seasons.

During the Cork senior hurlers strike action a few season’s back, Cusack was one of the chief spokesmen for the players

Another new member of the backroom team is Jimmy Payne from Waterford who is to be a strength and conditioning coach along with Kelvin Harold who is employed full time by Clare GAA.

He worked with Fitzgerald during the Sixmilebridge man’s tenure as Waterford senior hurling team manager. He has also held the role of Strength and Conditioning Coach with various rugby, basketball and soccer teams, as well as the Laois Senior Hurling Team and Cork Senior Football Team.  As an International Performance Boxing Coach and Tutor for 10 years with the IABA, he has worked with Olympic silver medallist John Joe Nevin, Olympic gold medallist Ryan Burnett, and twice European champion and World silver medallist Joe Ward. He is also the winner of 4 national boxing titles.

Aonghus O’Brien from Broadford is also included as a team coach for the coming season

“I am delighted to welcome Donal Óg, Aonghus and Jimmy to the setup. Their collective experience and expertise will further strengthen the already high quality backroom team in place. Over the next few weeks, there may be one or two additions announced to the backroom team and the panel”, manager Davy Fitzgerald said in the statement issued at noon today. It is my intention to finalise the Provisional panel at the end of January ahead of the commencement of the Allianz National Hurling League,” added Fitzgerald.

According to the statement Cusack who has retired from club hurling is “looking forward to the challenge”. He has been released from his contract with RTE .

A provisional panel of thirty four players has been named as follows Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona), Donal Tuohy (Crusheen), Andrew Fahy (Whitegate), Paul Flanagan (Ballyea), Cian Dillon (Crusheen), Seadhna Morey (Sixmilebridge), Jack Browne (Ballyea), Brendan Bugler (Whitegate), David McInerney (Tulla), Pat O’Connor (Tubber), Conor Ryan (Cratloe), Conor Cleary (Kilmaley/Miltown), Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea), Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills), Domhnall O’Donovan (Clonlara), Eoin O’Brien (Newmarket-On-Fergus), Colm Galvin (Clonlara), Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge), Colin Ryan (Newmarket-On-Fergus), John Conlon (Clonlara), Peter Duggan (Clooney Quin), David Reidy (Éire Óg), Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg), Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle), Darach Honan (Clonlara), Conor O’Donnell (Crusheen), Tony Kelly (Ballyea), Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge), David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona), Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna), Podge Collins (Cratloe), Conor McGrath (Cratloe), Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna).

The management team named comprises Davy Fitzgerald (Manager), Michael Browne (selector), Louis Mulqueen (selector), Donal Óg Cusack (coach/selector), Aonghus O’Brien (coach), Seoirse Bulfin (coach), Kelvin Harold (strength and conditioning), Jimmy Payne (strength and conditioning)

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

Crusheen appeal upheld at Munster Council level

AN objection brought by Crusheen GAA club following its relegation from the senior hurling championship …

error: Content is protected !!