Home » Sports » Development workshop to be held at West County

Development workshop to be held at West County

FOLLOWING discussions at the April monthly meeting regarding area development, it was agreed that the expertise of the national development officer should be sought.

Olivia Phelan and Zoe Merriman with Michéal Roche, right, from Golden Vale as he presents the sponsorship cheque to Fiach McHugh,  chairman of the Clare Communiuty Games and John O’ Sullivan, president. Photograph by Declan MonaghanThe planned date for a workshop with the national development officer is Tuesday, June 8 in the West County Hotel from 7.30pm to 10pm.
The workshop will address such issues as how to recruit volunteers; how to involve parents and youth and how to increase area participation.
In order to organise and plan for this workshop, the county secretary, Mary Phelan must be notified by this Friday how many from each area will attend. If sufficient numbers of area personnel aren’t interested in attending, the workshop will not go ahead.

THE Golden Vale Milk Clare Community Games Gaelic Football (U-10 competition) was held on Saturday last in St Flannan’s College in glorious sunshine. Competition was high with some very good matches. The co-ordinator was Fiach McHugh and referee was Flan O’Reilly from Cratloe. In quarter-final games, Ennis St John’s got a walkover from Shannon and Clarecastle/Ballyea beat Doora/Barefield to qualify for the semi-final. In the semi-finals, Kilrush beat Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry and Ennis St John’s beat Clarecastle/Ballyea. In the finals, Kilrush were the stronger team and came out as gold medal winners. Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry beat Clarecastle/Ballyea for the bronze medals. Kilrush now go forward to represent Clare in the Munster finals hosted by Clare in July.
The members of the Kilrush panel are Christopher Hehir, Ian Dobson, Jack Cleary, Dylan Downes, Conor Cleary, Eoin O’Mara, Luke Clancy, Danny Clancy, Michael Sobas, Darragh Miniter, Stephen Murray, Leo McAnespie, Matt Gilligan, Oran Copley, Evan McInerney, Martin Walsh, Keith Crowley, Evan Kelly, Seán Purtill, Benjamin Drury.
Runners-up, Ennis St John’s comprised  Darren O’Brien, Jack Joyce, Oran Tobin, Finn Tobin, James McGuire, Gavin D’Auria, Kevin Moloney, Daniel Geraghty, Dylan White, James Nugent, Dan Connolly, Martin McCormack, Manus Doherty, Frank Roche, Michael Ludden, Ben Leyden, Damian Slattery, Liam Doran.
Bronze medal winners Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry included Jordan Downes, Shane Freeman, Dylan Downes, Jack Corry, James Holloway, Jamin Hoffmann, Oran O’Reilly, Alex Frost, Richy Barron, Paul Hamilton, Conor Flynn, Storm Devanney, Cian O’Reilly, David Hamilton, Brian Flynn, Seán Devanney, Jamey Madigan, Cormac Keating, Adam Breen, Ferdia O’Lionain.
In fourth place were Clarecastle/Ballyea with Liam Halpin, Luke McDermott, Fergus Garvey, Aidan Ryan, Dylan Browne, Oscan Grijalva, Ben Sullivan, Seán Potter, Alec Cassley, Josh Brack, Oisín Mac Mathúna, Eanna O’Donoghue, Cillian Casey, Darragh Healy, Oisín Casey, Harry Ward, Eoin Dinan, Adam Spencer, David Tuohy.

National finals
THE first weekend of national finals will take place in Athlone this weekend and Clare will have representatives taking part in art, model-making, badminton, chess, choir, cross country, culture corner, draughts, handball, projects table quiz and all the talent events. In total, 177 children from Clare will be participating in the finals including three members of the McCarthy family from Quin/Clooney. Bus will leave Dunnes Stores car park on Friday at 1pm and return on Sunday evening leaving Athlone at approximately 6pm.
The venue for the cross country and relays is the Marist College grounds and not Athlone IT and all athletes are to be at the venue at 9am.

The following are the Clare teams:
U-12 400m: Chantelle Burke (Kilrush), Alex O’Neill (Quin/Clooney), Tara Bradley (Kilkee).   
U-12 600m: Sharon Egan (Kilmihil); Kate Taylor (Quin/Clooney); Dearbhla Brown (Killimer/Knockerra).
U-14, 600m: Áine Looney (Cooraclare-Cree); Abimbola Sobayo (Ennis St John’s); Niamh Fitzhenry (Ennistymon/Liscannor).
U-14 800m: Rachel Clancy (Carrigaholt/Cross); Nollaig Blake, (Doonbeg); Anna Moloney, (Inch/Kilmaley/Connolly).
Mixed U-13 1,200m: Cliodhna Blake (Doonbeg); Caoimhe Harvey (Carrigaholt/Cross); Áine Rouine (Ennistymon/Liscannor); Elaine Shannon (Ennistymon/Liscannor); Sinéad Hogan (Ennistymon/Liscannor).

U-12 400m: Farouk Sobayo (Ennis St John’s); Cathal O’Brien (Ennis St John’s); Seán Rouine (Ennistymon/Liscannor).   
U-12 600m: Jamie Roche (Ennis St John’s); Thomas Clancy (Carrigaholt/Cross); Kevin Hassett (Killimer/Knockerra).
U-14 600m: Pierse Lillis (Cooraclare/Cree); Conor O Brien (Doora Barefield); Ryan Jennings (Clarecastle/Ballyea).
U-14 800m: Jack Devitt (Ennistymon/Liscannor); Brian Leyden (Ennistymon/Liscannor); Donal O Grady (Cooraclare/Cree).   
U-13 1,200m: Micheál Clancy (Doonbeg); Kevin Mulcaire (Clarecastle/Ballyea); Seán Collins (Ennis St John’s); Patrick O’Rourke (Ennistymon/Liscannor); Marc McAuliffe (Clarecastle/Ballyea).       
KILLIMER/Knockerra area finals were held recently in Killimer GAA pitch and the results are:
U-8 girls’ 60m: 1. Ruth Callinan; 2. Alannah Behan; 3. Veronica O’Sullivan.
U-8 boys’ 60m: 1. Joseph Meehan; 2. Fiachra McKeown; 3. Michael Kelleher.
U-8 girls’ 80m: 1. Mariah Kelly; 2. Sinéad Kelly; 3. Faye Collins.
U-8 boys’ 80m: 1. Mikey Kelleher; 2. Adam O’Driscoll; 3. Evan Power.
U-10 girls’ 100m: 1. Meadhbh Crowe; 2. Leah Callaghan; 3. Kristyn O’Reilly.
U-10 boys’ 100m: 1. James Browne and Kevin Donnellan; 2. Luke Kelly; 3. Seán McKeown and Alan Hassett.
U-12 girls 100m and 600m: 1. Katie O’Dea; 2. Mairéad Grogan.
U-12 boys’ 100m: 1. Evan O’Driscoll; 2. Alan Meehan; 3. Mikey Hassett and Pádraig McKeown.
U-12 boys’ 600m: 1. Luke Callinan; 2. Kevin Hassett.
U-14 boys’ 100m: 1. Colm Pyne; 2. Nigel O’Dea; 3. James Hassett.
Ball throw U-12 boys: 1. Patrick Bannon; 2. Luke Callinan; 3. Kevin Hassett.
Shot putt U-14 boys: 1. Colm Pyne; 2. Nigel O Dea; 3. Cian Culligan and James Hassett.
Discus U-16 boys: 1. Fergal Pyne; 2. Jack Callinan.
U-12 relay boys: Luke Callinan, Kevin Hassett, James Browne, Evan O’Driscoll. Subs: Pádraig McKeown and Mikey Hassett.


About News Editor


Check Also

Clare Golf Clubs Ready For Action Once More

Derrick Lynch The first local sporting activity since the outbreak of COVID-19 is set to …