Home » Sports » Cratloe lose toss for Munster final venue
Cratloe will play Kilmallock in the Munster hurling final in the Gaelic grounds in Limerick. Photograph by John Kelly.

Cratloe lose toss for Munster final venue

By Seamus Hayes

The Gaelic Grounds in Limerick will host the Munster club hurling final between Clare champions Cratloe and Limerick’s Kilmallock on Sunday week, November 23, when the throw in time will be 2p.m.

The venue was decided on the toss of a coin at the Munster council offices in Limerick on Tuesday evening.

Following the meeting of Crusheen and Limerick’s Na Piarsaigh in the 2011 Munster final when the council’s decision to stage that game at Thurles received much criticism, the provincial body decided that in any similar situation in the future where teams from neighbouring counties would clash, a toss of a coin between the respective county grounds would take place to determine the venue.

Last year Cusack Park hosted the final between Sixmilebridge and Limerick’s Na Piarsaigh and that was decided on a toss of a coin. The council adopted the same process this year and on Tuesday evening, a coin was tossed to determine whether Limerick’s Gaelic Grounds or Cusack Park in Ennis would host the decider and Limerick won.


Check Also

Clare Golf Clubs Ready For Action Once More

Derrick Lynch The first local sporting activity since the outbreak of COVID-19 is set to …