Home » Sports » Cooraclare-Cree dominate basketball finals

Cooraclare-Cree dominate basketball finals

Dearbhla O’Neill and Maeve Scanlan of Cratloe try to disposess Ciara Brogan of Abbey Lakers. Photograph by John Kelly

THE Clare Community Games basketball competitions took place on Saturday and Sunday in the sports hall at Cratloe.
Well organised and co-ordinated by Emer Murphy, Gráinne Lynch, Seán Stack, Damien Power, Elaine Hoey and Róisín Crowe, there was a new competition for U-11 mixed. It was a very exciting competition with some extremely close matches with one match decided by just one point.  Cooraclare/Cree contested all five competitions and now go forward to represent Clare in the Munster finals in UL on July 10. Cratloe U-13 girls are the other representatives.

U-11 MIXED: 1. Cooraclare/Cree A: Davy Martyn, Colin McNamara, Sean McNamara, Jack Corry, Keenan Quinn, Róisín Keating, Megan Downes, Caoilfhionn Morrissey, Sarah Looney; 2. Cooraclare/Cree B: Michael Lillis, Luke Considine, Cathal O’Gorman, Tomas     Browne, Ronan Lillis, Eimear Griffin, Niamh Cusack, Shauna Morrissey, Megan Garry; 3. Quin/Clooney: Rachel Begg, Mary Conneally, Orlaith Nash, Michelle Meere, Ciara O’Reilly, Oisin Egan, Adam Miniter, Eoin Beirne, Paul Hogan, Ronan Wall.
U-13 GIRLS: 1. Cratloe: Fiona O’Connell, Sheila Scanlan, Rebecca Gleeson, Rebecca O’Halloran, Meadbh Scanlon, Aoife McInerney, Dervla O’Neill, Muireann Scanlon, Emma Sheahan, Caitlin Moloney; 2. Doora/Barefield: Michelle O’Neill, Ciara Reidy, Aoife O’Connor, Emily Williams, Sheena Tarrent, Mia Hanrahan, Orla Purcell, Rachel O’Connor, Dianne McGloin, Ciara Kelleher; 3. Quin/Clooney: Ciara Grogan, Emma Deegan, Áine Nash, Rhian O’Sullivan, Siobhain Frain, Lauren McConway, Sophie Barbain, Aoife Barry.
U-13 BOYS: 1. Cooraclare/Cree: Shane McNamara, Barry O’Gorman, Killian Roche, Killian Burke, Jack Morrissey, Gerard McNamara, Donal O’Grady, Ronan Duggan, Kieran Griffin;  2. Quin/Clooney: Douglas Reddan, David Rochford, Stephen Frain, Brendan     Dolan, Darragh Ryan, Killian O’Donovan.
U-16 GIRLS: 1. Cooraclare/Cree: Sarah Quinlivan, Áine Looney, Sinéad Burke, Aoife O’Gorman, Tara O’Gorman, Eimear Meade, Riona Meade, Sharon Downes; 2. Sixmilebridge/Kilmurry: Rachel Scanlon, Sinéad Tuohy, Ellen Roche, Slaine Carey, Aisling Hassett, Aoife Roche, Christine Collins, Fiona Murphy; 3. Kildysart: Katie O’Connell, Fiona O’Brien, Sarah Meaney, Edel O’Donoghue, Eleanor Hogan, Nora Kirrane, Nicole Quinn, Jenny McNamara, Ayisha McGrath, Ayisha Curry.

Mini rugby

THE mini rugby competition was held on Saturday last in St Flannan’s College, Ennis under the co-ordination of Aidan McDermott. The entries were down this year but what it lacked in quantity it made up for in quality.  Clarecastle/Ballyea now go forward to represent Clare in the Munster finals in UL.
Clarecastle/Ballyea comprised Luke MacDermott, Niall Galvin, Ronan Donnelly, Seán Dolan, Killian McDermott, Eamon Breen, Barry Neylon, Lorcan Clancy, Eoin Doyle, Oisín Mac Mathúna.
In silver was was Doora/Barefield with Tom O’Brien, Conor Tierney, James Whelan, Nathan Coote, Joseph Connaughton, Eoghan Thynne, Darragh O’Shea, Shane Brennan, Aidan Cleland, Brendan Cleland. The bronze medal was won by Tulla – Seán Cahill, David Meehan, Aoife Floyd, Ian Hughes, Jan Litgovet, Ethan Nugent, Colm McInerney, Luke O’Sullivan, Eddie Jennings, Ronan Molloy, Feargal Kearney, Anna Louise Floyd.

About News Editor


Check Also

Kilmihil Ready For Challenge Of Defending Clare LGFA Crown

Derrick Lynch The 2020 Clare Ladies football championships get underway on Monday evening with games …