Home » News » Conor McGrath gets All-Star nomination

Conor McGrath gets All-Star nomination

Clare’s Conor McGrath in among the nominees for the 2014 Hurling All-Stars.

The young Cratloe man, who won a Clare Senior Hurling Championship medal last weekend, is named in the full-forward list. McGrath will be on the Cratloe football team hoping to complete a double when they meet Éire Óg from Ennis this Sunday.

Recently crowned All-Ireland champions Kilkenny lead the All-Star nominations count with no fewer than 13 players making the shortlist.

They are followed closely by beaten finalists Tipperary, who receive 11.

The remainder of the 45 places go to Limerick (7), Cork (6) Wexford (3), Dublin (2) and one apiece for Clare, Offaly and Galway.

This shortlist of nominees was selected by GAA journalists and the awards for the successful 15 candidates, along with the Player of the Year awards, will be made at the All-Star banquet on October 24 in Dublin.

Contenders for both the Player of the Year and the Young Player of the Year awards are also listed below. The shortlists for these awards will be voted on by the GPA membership.

2014 Hurling Nominations

Darren Gleeson (Tipperary), Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Alan Nolan (Dublin).

Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Séamus Hickey (Limerick), Richie McCarthy (Limerick), Stephen McDonnell (Cork), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary), Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny), Liam Ryan (Wexford).


Kieran Bergin (Tipperary), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Mark Ellis (Cork), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Pádraic Walsh (Kilkenny), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Lorcán McLoughlin (Cork), Wayne McNamara (Limerick).


Paul Browne (Limerick), Lee Chin (Wexford), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Shane McGrath (Tipperary), James Ryan (Limerick).

Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Conor Lehane (Cork), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Conor Cooney (Galway).

Alan Cadogan (Cork), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary), Shane Dowling (Limerick), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Conor McDonald (Wexford), Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Conor McGrath (Clare), Brian Carroll (Offaly).

Young Player of the Year
Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)
Shane Dowling (Limerick)
Conor McDonald (Wexford)

Player of the Year
Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)
Séamus Callanan (Tipp

About Colin McGann

Check Also

Caution urged after Clare woman falls foul of rental scam

CLARE gardai have urged caution when renting properties after reports of one woman being scammed …