Home » Sports » Club camogie stars to be honoured

Club camogie stars to be honoured

THE Clare Camogie Board, in conjunction with the Clare Camogie Supporters club will host an awards night this Saturday at the Auburn Lodge Hotel.
Medals will be presented to the Munster U-16 camogie champions on the night, along with the U-14 inter-county blitz winners from the Galway blitz.
As this is the 75th year of Clare camogie the county executive has introduced the Inaugural Club Star Awards. These are a small token of the appreciation that the board has for those who work so hard at club level but may never reach county teams, but without whom clubs would not survive.
The medal and award recipients have been asked to be in the Auburn Lodge for 7.30pm. The presentation will begin at 8pm.

The recipients of the Club Star Awards 2009:
U-12C – Rebecca Collins, Corofin; U-12B – Lauren Tuohy, Clarecastle; U-12A – Niamh Whyte, Sixmilebridge; U-14C – Lisa O’Donoghue, Whitegate; U-14B – Sophie Hannah, Éire Óg; U-14A – Niki Kaiser, Newmarket-on-Fergus; U-16C – Aideen Burke, Whitegate; U-16B – Ellen Keane, Ballyea; U-16A – Rachel Scanlon, Sixmilebridge; U-18C – Síle McKee, Feakle; U-18B – Marie Halpin, Clooney; U-18A – Eimear O’Connor, Kilmaley; junior – Patricia McCarthy, Inagh; intermediate – Marie Nash, Kilkishen; senior – Siobhan Maher, Kilmaley; hall of fame – Kitty McNicholas; special award – Fr Murray (50 years involvement with Clare camogie).

U-16 Munster champions panel:
Suzie O’Shea (Ballyea), Caroline Feehily, Laura McMahon, Niki Kaiser, Clodagh Lawlor (Newmaket-on-Fergus), Maire McGrath (Na Piarsaigh), Niamh Cahill, Katie Cahill, Aisling Darcy (Kilmaley), Helen Hehir (Inagh), Christina Glynn (Kilnamona), Ellen Horgan (Truagh), Niamh O’Dea (Corofin), Orlaith Duggan, Saidbhe Corbett (Clooney), Chloe Morey (C), Sinead Hyland, Mairead Hyland, Rachel O’Halloran, Ciara Whelan, Sinead Tuohy, Ali Quinlan (Sixmilebridge), Vera Loughnane, Clodagh Gray, Ciara Minogue (Feakle), Susan Fahy, Rachel Bleech (Whitegate), Leanne Boyle (Wolfe Tones), Rachel Mulcaire, Shauna Moloney (Clarecastle).
Manager: Franice McMahon; selectors: John Carmody, Brendan Mulcaire, Jim Loughnane, Niamh McInerney, Carina Roseingrave.

U-14 blitz winners: Pauline McNamara, Shauna Fleming, Kate O’Gorman, Clodagh O’Halloran (Kilkishen), Aisling Keogh, Saoirse Gleeson (Newmarket-on-Fergus), Kate Collins (Scariff), Orlaith Lynch, Rebecca Devine (St Joseph’s), Ciara Mulcaire (Clarecastle), Eimear Donnellan (C), Beckie Maxwell (Sixmilebridge), Lorraine Kinniry (Broadford), Mary Kate Moloney, Colette Purcell (Feakle), Amy McArthur (Killanena), Sinead Kelly (Wolfe Tones), Clara Molone (Bodyke), Jane Flannagan (Ballyea), Rebecca Crowe (Ruan).
Management: Joe O’Gorman, Brendan Mulcaire, Kieran O’Shea, Orla Considine.


About News Editor

Check Also

Semi-final spots up for grabs in race for Canon Hamilton

Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Finals Newmarket-on-Fergus v Wolfe Tones @ Cusack Park, Saturday 1.30pm A golden …