Ennis College Further Education
Home » Breaking News » Clonlara forwards prove the B’s knees against Crusheen
John Conlon, Colm O'Meara and their Clonlara colleagues had matters in hand in their Senior B defeat of Crusheen on Thursday evening.

Clonlara forwards prove the B’s knees against Crusheen

Ennis College Further Education

Michael O’Connor watched Clonlara’s forwards point their way to a 1-25 to 3-13 win over Crusheen in the Senior B Championship


Reigning senior B champions Clonlara are back in the semi-finals of this year’s version following a deserved six-point win over a shot shy Crusheen side at the Clare GAA centre on Thursday evening. A sizable attendance was present for the first ever competitive Clare GAA game played at the GAA centre.

The excellent conditions at the GAA centre allowed for a fast-moving game that was dominated in the main by Clonlara bar the last quarter when Crusheen initiated a late attempt to put respectability on the scoreline.

Both sides showed positional and personnel changes from their last championship ties as Ross Hayes pointed for their games first score as Cian Moriarty and Oisin O’Donnell hit scores over after four minutes.

Clonlara took absolute control of the game up to the end of the opening quarter as Cathal O’Connell (3), Aidan Moriarty, John Conlon and Ian Galvin added point before O’Connell finished to the net after Michael O’Loughlin’s initial goal effort was stopped on the Crusheen goal line.

The second quarter witnessed Clonlara remain as the dominant side as they outscored their opponents (5-4) as one of the highlights was a stunning 90metre drive from Eanna McMahon that floated over the bar.

Ross Hayes (2), Oisin O’Donnell, Michael O’Loughlin, Aidan Moriarty, Jathan McMahon and Cathal O’Connell were others on the scoresheet to leave Clonlara (1-12) to (0-7) ahead at the break.

Ross Hayes finished as the game’s top scorer with (2-9) with all but two scores coming from placed balls. The vast majority of Clonlara’ scores came from play, and they could easily have had three goals in their locker after ten minutes.

Crusheen were a beaten team as Clonlara were playing with abandon all over the field as the Crusheen half back line struggled to contain wave and wave of attack.

John Conlon upfield and Michael O’Loughlin tagged on two early second half points. Ross Hayes (3), John Conlon once more and O Loughlin (4) left Clonlara double scores plus one, (1-20) to (0-11) ahead after 45 minutes.

It was now embarrassing for Crusheen as three further scores from Daniel Moloney, Dylan McMahon and Michael O’ Loughlin in a two-minute spell increased their lead to 15 points.

All of a sudden Crusheen won two penalties in three minutes with Hayes scoring both as Conor O’Donnell and Jamie Fitzgibbon combined for a third Crusheen goal as Michael O’Loughlin responded with a Clonlara point.

The winner’s lead was now reduced to six points when Tadgh Dean sent over a long-distance score. It was still too much for Crusheen as the game was in injury time and Clonlara went through to the last four.

Clonlara: Semi Gully, Michael Clancy, Colm O’Meara, Tommy Walsh, Aidan Moriarty, John Conlon, Dylan McMahon, Cathal O’Connell, Jathan McMahon, Daniel Moloney, Ger Powell, Cian Moriarty, Michael O’ Loughlin, Ian Galvin, Padraig O’ Loughlin. Subs: Gareth Kennedy for Clancy, Michael O’Loughlin for O’Connell, Mick Stritch for Powell, Michael Stritch for Galvin, Conor Bourke for M O’Loughlin. Clonlara scorers: Michael O’Loughlin (0-8), Cathal O’Connell (1-4), John Conlon (0-3), Aidan Moriarty, Jathan McMahon (0-2) each, Ian Galvin, Dylan McMahon, Cian Moriarty, Daniel Moloney, Conor Bourke (0-1), Padraig O’Loughlin

Crusheen: Donal Touhy, Eanna McMahon, Cian Dillon, Mark Perrill, Diarmuid Mullins, Tadgh Dean, Cathal Dillon, Gavin O’Brien, Oisin O’Donnell, Ross Hayes, Fergus Kennedy, Jamie Fitzgibbon, Ian O’Brien, Cillein Mullins, Luke Ketelaar. Subs: Gerry O’Grady for O’Brien, Conor O’Donnell for Ketelaar, David Kearney for D Touhy, Murrough McMahon for C Mullins, Luke Hayes for Perrill. Crusheen scorers: Ross Hayes (2-9), Jamie Fitzgibbon (1-0), Oisin O’Donnell (0-2), Eanna McMahon, Tadgh Dean (0-1).

Referee: Gus O’Callaghan (Feakle)

About Michael O'Connor

Check Also

Posing at Batsford Arboretum

The London adventure begins…

Well, I was rudely awakened very early one Monday morning and after a flurry of …