Home » Sports » Clare’s championship dream shattered
Clearly disappointed Clare players following their loss to Limerick in Cusack park. Photograph by John Kelly.

Clare’s championship dream shattered

Limerick 1-13 Clare 0-9

Clare’s hopes of getting to the knock out stage in the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland senior camogie championship are all but gone following a third successive defeat in this season’s championship race.

At Cusack Park on Saturday, a strong first half showing by visitors Limerick steered the visitors to their second win of the campaign and left Clare pointless at the bottom of the table.

Niamh Mulcahy was the Limerick hero, contributing all but three points of their total. Throughout the hour she proved a handful for Clare.

While there is no disputing the merit of Limerick’s win, Clare were, clearly, annoyed with a number of referee John McDonagh’s decisions over the course of the hour. The Galway based official who hails from Liscannor clearly annoyed Clare officials and followers with some of his decisions, not least the sending off of team captain Orlaith Duggan on a second yellow card.

Having played with the aid of a strong breeze, Limerick were 1-10 to 0-4 in front at the break. Clare needed a good start to the second half but it was limerick who stretched their lead and they were ten points clear as the three quarter stage approached. Clare then hit three unanswered points but the sending off of team captain Duggan with ten minutes remaining proved a major blow.

Limerick; Claire Keating; Siobhan Enright, Muireann Creamer, Judith Mulcahy; Niamh Richardson, Fiona Hickey, Rebecca Dulee; Mary O’Callaghan, Karen O’Leary; Deborah Murphy, Niamh Mulcahy (1-10) Caoimhe Costello (0-1); Cinead McNamara (0-2), Cliona Lane, Chloe O’Brien

Subs; Niamh Ryan for Murphy; Rebecca Noonan for Lane; Noreen Barry for O’Brien. Marguerite McCarthy for O’Callaghan

Clare; Lauren Solan; Emma O’Connell, Maire McGrath, Carol O’Leary; Laura McMahon, Roisin McMahon (0-1), Aoibheann Malone; Orlaith Duggan (0-1), Laura Foley (0-1); Aoife Keane (0-3), Niamh O’Dea, Eimear Kelly; Amy Keating, Aine O’Loughlin (0-1), Michelle Caulfield (0-1);

Subs; Doireann Murphy (0-1) for Kelly; Ellen Horgan for O’Loughlin,

Referee-John McDonagh, Galway

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

Clare Golf Clubs Ready For Action Once More

Derrick Lynch The first local sporting activity since the outbreak of COVID-19 is set to …