Home » Sports » Clare teams gear up for All-Ireland finals in Athlone

Clare teams gear up for All-Ireland finals in Athlone

THE Community Games Munster Finals took place on Saturday, with most of the action in the University of Limerick. The handball finals were in Tulla and Clooney and the choir competitions in Sixmilebridge GAA Hall.
Clare were represented in all but the table tennis girls’ U-15. Clare hosted the games this year with Mary Lenihan as games director.
The following teams have qualified for national finals in Athlone on the weekend of May 28-30.
Badminton: Broadford: Damien Kiniry, Shane Taylor, Diarmuid Moloney, Stiofan Marsh McMahon, Shane Kiniry, Lorraine Kiniry, Aoife Dillon, Cliona O’Brien, Róisín O’Connell and Siobhán O’Connell.
Chess U-16: Shannon: Robbie Meaney, David Hanley, Darragh Mulqueen Danaher, Samuel Lenihan, James Danaher, Ross O’Connor, Yee Shing Man.
Choir U-13: Kilrush:  Aoife Carrig, Rachel Ryan, Ruth Nolan, Megan Broderick, Dylan Broderick, Caroline Lillis, Cathal Daly, Patrick Casey, Megan Walsh, Caoimhe Lyons, Maddy Jarocka, Jessica Gilligan, Anna O’Dea, Ellen Bolton, Emma Cahill, Kate Rutherford, Saoirse Griffin, Melissa Hanrahan, Chantal O’Sullivan, Aisling O’Connell.
Choir U-16: Killimer/Knockerra: Leah Callaghan, Aoife Howard, Ronya Baumann, Eilis Howard, Sarah McCann, Mairéad Grogan, Eve Collins, Amy Moloney, Deirbhile Browne, Katie O’Dea, Alison O’Donnell, Gráinne Howard, Carla Behan, Caoimhe Daly, Hazel Baumann, Eilise Brennan, Grainne Mulqueen, Aoife Brennan.
Draughts U-12: Tulla: Emma Kelly, Seán Cahill, Seán McNamara, Kevin McSweeney, David Meehan, Jack Noonan, Aoife Floyd.
Handball boys’ U-13: Quin/Clooney: Fergal Coughlan, Tadhg Shanahan, Barry Loughnane, Seán Hehir, Conor O’Brien, Luke Keane.
Handball girls’ U-15: Kilkishen/O’Callaghan’s Mills/Oatfield:  Shauna Fleming, Amy Philpott, Áine McInerney, Clodagh O’Halloran, Kate O’Gorman.

Quiz competition

THE Golden Vale Clare Community Games U-14 quiz competition took place on Friday last in St Flannan’s College Ennis. The co-ordinator was Tony Bourke with Martin McInerney as quiz master.
The number of teams was down this year but what it lacked in quantity it made up for in quality with the winning team scoring 96 out of 100. The winners, Carrigaholt/Cross now go forward to represent Clare in Athlone at the end of May.

1. Carrigaholt/Cross: Brendan Carrig, Cillian Sheehy, Colm Coughlan, Fergal Carrig.
2. Newmarket-on-Fergus: Áine Feehily, Cathal Finucane, Colin Guilfoyle, Fionnan Crimmins, Liam O’Connor and Cian Lenihan.
3. Kildysart: Mark O’Sullivan, Laoise Kelly, Aidan O’Loughlin, Caroline Casey, David Clancy and Rory McMahon.
4. An Droichead: Luke Nolan, Michael O’Shea, Moya Ryan, David O’Shea, Anna Spaight and Áine O’Grady.

About News Editor


Check Also

Clare Golf Clubs Ready For Action Once More

Derrick Lynch The first local sporting activity since the outbreak of COVID-19 is set to …