Home » Sports » Clare minors through to third successive All-Ireland final

Clare minors through to third successive All-Ireland final

The Clare minor team who are through to the All-Ireland final against Galway.
Clare 3-11 Tipperary 1-9

CLARE qualified for a third successive All-Ireland minor camogie final when they defeated Tipperary at Kilmallock at the weekend.

In the final, they will play Galway and this game will take place in McDonagh Park in Nenagh on Saturday week, August 7 at 3pm.
In the past two years, Clare have lost to Kilkenny in the final.
Tipperary opened the scoring in the first minute with a point from full-forward Cait Devane but Clare quickly equalised with a point from full-forward Susan Fahy.
Tipperary’s Cait Devane scored her second point in the third minute and this was followed by a like score from midfielder, Nicole Walshe, who scored from a free.
Clare’s second point came from Naomi Carroll after she received a pass from Orlaith Duggan. They sides were on level terms when Chloe Morey converted a free awarded for a foul on Sinéad Tuohy.
Clare’s first goal came from Susan Fahy in the 14th minute and it was followed by a Sinéad Tuohy point and Clare were now four points clear.
Tipperary added two points from frees by Nicole Walshe before Naomi Carroll had her second point of the game for the Clare girls.
Eight minutes before the break, Tipperary were back on level terms when Sarah Fryday had their only goal after Susie O’Shea had made a fine save.
Another Chloe Morey pointed free after a foul on Orlaith Duggan restored the lead to Clare. Naomi Carroll and
Chloe Morey scored her second free in the 24th minute, won by Orlaith Duggan. Before the half-time whistle, Naoimi Carroll and Tipperary’s Amy Kennedy exchanged points leaving Clare ahead by the minimum margin at the interval, 1-7 to 1-6.
Clare were first to score when play resumed as Chloe Morey converted a free in the first minute. Sinéad Tuohy quickly added a point and Susan Fahy then struck for her and Clare’s second goal in the third minute stretching Clare’s advantage to six points.
The second half was 11 minutes old before Amy Kennedy had Tipperary’s first score of this period and Nicole Walsh quickly added another point to their tally.
Orlaith Duggan pointed for Clare after good work by Laura McMahon.
Cait Devane had what proved to be Tipperary’s last score of the game with eight minutes still to play.
Clare finished strongly with a Susan Fahy point followed by a goal from the same player bringing her tally for the evening to 3-2.

Clare: Susie O’Shea (Ballyea); Joanne Walsh (Newmarket); Máire McGrath (Sixmilebridge); Jessica O’Neill (Clooney-Quin); Laura McMahon (Newmarket); Chloe Morey (Sixmilebridge, captain, 0-3); Christina Glynn (Kilnamona); Orlaith Duggan (Clooney-Quin, 0-1), Niamh O’Dea (Corofin); Rachel O’Halloran (Sixmilebridge); Regina O’Brien (Ogonnelloe); Niamh Corry (Sixmilebridge); Naomi Carroll (Sixmilebridge, 0-3); Susan Fahy (Whitegate, 3-2); Sinéad Tuohy (Sixmilebridge, 0-2).
Subs: Katie Cahill (Kilmaley) for R O’Brien; Lisa Loughnane (Kilkishen) for R O’Halloran.
Tipperary: Orla McEnery; Ann Eviston, Lisa Cahill, Sheila Ryan; Emma Spillane, Mairéad Barry, Clodagh Quirke; Brid Quinn, Nicole Walsh (0-4); Alice Fogarty, Sarah Fryday (1-0), Niamh O’Donoghue; Amy Kennedy (0-2), Cait Devanne (0-3), Aoife Ryan.
Subs: Caitriona Short for N O’Donoghue; Louise Hogan for A Fogarty; Claire Kennedy for Fryday;

In the final on Saturday week, Clare’s opponent will be Galway who had a one-point win over the defending champions Kilkenny. The final is set for 3pm.


About News Editor


Check Also

2020 Clare SHC Final Preview: Sixmilebridge v O’Callaghan’s Mills

Eoin Brennan What happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object? It’s a paradox …