Home » Breaking News » Clare man makes Rising Stars Football Team of the Year

Clare man makes Rising Stars Football Team of the Year

Kildysart’s Emmet McMahon has been named at centre-forward on the Electric Ireland GAA Rising Stars Football Team of the Year.

McMahon made his first start for Clare in this year’s Allianz National Football League. His strong Sigerson Cup campaign for the University of Limerick has been rewarded with his inclusion in the Higher Education team of the year.

The talented forward was key to UL reaching the Sigerson decider with his point scoring from distance aiding them on their run.

He kicked two points in their semi final triumph over DCU, including a booming effort which gave his side a 0-13 to 0-11 lead. He started at centre forward in his side’s three point final defeat to NUIG last month.

The third year Physical Education and Maths student was joined by fellow Clare men Daniel Walsh (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Ciaran Downes (Kilmihil) and Oisin Looney (St Joseph’s Miltown) on the UL panel which reached a first Sigerson Cup final in 25 years.

The Kildysart man produced a series of excellent displays with his scoring from distance a notable feature of UL’s run to the final. His showings highlighted his talents to a national audience which followers of Clare football would have seen with Kildysart and in the underage ranks.

Emmet scored a point in last year’s Intermediate Championship final as Kildysart shipped two injury time goals to fall just short against Corofin.

He was also joint captain of the Cill Cúil Gaels amalgamation which defeated Éire Óg in the 2021 U21A football final. McMahon kicked four points to help the amalgamated side secure county honours.

Emmet McMahon of Clare takes a 45 during the 2021 Munster Minor football final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. Photograph by John Kelly.


Rising Stars Football Team of the Year: Conor Carroll (NUIG, Oranmore-Maree, Roscommon), Eoghan McLaughlin (UL, Westport, Mayo), Shea Ryan (DCU, Newbridge Sarsfields, Kildare), Fionán Mackessy (MTUK, Ardfert, Kerry), Sean Powter (UL, Douglas, Cork), Eoin Kelly (NUIG, Moycullen, Galway), Sean Kelly (NUIG, Moycullen, Galway), Red Óg Murphy (DCU, Curry, Sligo), Matthew Tierney (NUIG, Oughterard, Galway), Fionn McDonagh (NUIG, Westport, Mayo), Emmet McMahon (UL, Kildysart, Clare), Gavin Burke (NUIG, Corofin, Galway), Cathal Heneghan (NUIG, Glaveys, Roscommon), David Clifford (UL, Fossa, Kerry), Tony Brosnan (MTUK, Dr. Crokes, Kerry).

About Ivan Smyth

Check Also

Council creates special role to co-ordinate Ukraine response

Clare County Council has appointed an acting director of services to co-ordinate the local authority’s …