Home » Sports » Clare close to earning shock

Clare close to earning shock

Maria Tynan of Tipperary gets in the way of Norah Murphy. Photograph by John Kelly

Tipperary 1-12  Clare 1-9

CLARE almost pulled off a major shock but came up just short against Tipperary, who prevailed 1-12 to 1-9 in this All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship tie played at Corofin on Saturday.
The Premier women led by 1-6 to 0-2 at the interval, Claire Grogan scoring 1-2, but the Banner stormed back into contention after the resumption.
Points from Chloe Morey, Claire McMahon and Róisín McMahon galvanised them and Naomi Carroll bagged a goal on the stroke of normal time to reduce the deficit to three points.
Clare thought they had carved open an equalising opportunity deep in injury time but were penalised for throwing the sliotar and the chance was lost.  Claire McMahon hand passed to Deirdre Murphy, who only had the keeper to beat when the Dublin referee, Eamon Mac Suibhn, blew his whistle signalling that the ball had been thrown. It was one of many decisions that frustrated the crowd and players, which meant the game was very stop-start throughout.
Clare missed chances in the first half that would have seen them at least level at the break; the home side were playing into a strong wind that was swirling and proved difficult for free taking. Chloe Morey missed from three placed balls, one of which hit the upright.
Deirdre Murphy struck two astray and Claire McMahon had a penalty stopped and deflected for a 45 after Norah Murphy was pulled down in the square with 20 minutes gone in the first half. A goal at this time would have levelled matters for Clare, as Tipperary were only ahead by three points at the time, with Clare yet to register a score.
Claire McMahon and Mairéad Scanlon were Clare’s point scorers in the first half. Susan Vaughan was substituted at half-time after sustaining an injury in the dying minutes of the first half. She came out to make a challenge on Claire Grogan, was injured and as the ball rolled towards the line, Sinéad Donovan raced back to dive and clear off the line. Grogan converted the resulting 45.
Clare had dominated for periods of the first half but failure to convert placed balls proved costly.
The Tipperary midfield dominated proceedings, however, the Clare full-forward line looked dangerous but didn’t get enough supply of the ball.
Eimear Considine was outstanding for Clare, Naomi Carroll, Claire McMahon, Sinéad Donovan and Norah Murphy also did very well.

Tipperary: Rosie Kenneally; Julie Kirwan, Siobhán Ryan, Geraldine Stapleton; Mary Ryan, Sabrina Larkin, Julie McGrath; Jill Horan, Siobhan Burke; Noreen Flanagan, Mairead Lutrell, Cora Hennessy; Cait Devane, Claire Grogan, Geraldine Kinnane.
Scorers: C Grogan (1-4, 0-2f, 0-145); N Flanagan (0-3); A Mc Loughney (0-2); J Ryan, C Devane and J McGrath (0-1 each).

Clare: Susan Vaughan; Aisling Hannon, Kate Lynch, Sinéad Donovan; Aiveen O’Shea, Chloe Morey, Eimear Considine; Ruth Kaiser, Fiona Lafferty; Naomi Carroll, Sharon McMahon, Deirdre Murphy; Norah Murphy, Claire McMahon, Mairéad Scanlon.
Scorers: N Carroll (1-0); C Morey (0-3f), C McMahon (0-3, 0-2f), F Lafferty, R McMahon and M Scanlon, (0-1 each).
Subs: Áine McNamara for Vaughan (inj); Kelly MacLean for Hannon; Claire Ryan for Scanlon and Anne Marie McMahon for O’Shea.

Referee: Eamon MacSuibhne, (Áth Cliath)

Clare will now travel to Wexford next Sunday and they have a very difficult task, Wexford were beaten by a point last Saturday when Galway’s Jessica Gill struck a last-minute free to the back of the Wexford net.
Clare will be without the services of Naomi Carroll and they are awaiting news on the fitness of Susan Vaughan for goal. Deirdre Murphy is also carrying a knock to her shoulder, which she sustained against Dublin and aggravated when falling heavily in the early stages of the game against Tipperary.
Eimear Considine and Fiona Lafferty will also have the Munster football final to contend with, which is against Cork on this Saturday.
Wexford will start as favourites to repeat the win they had over the Clare side in last year’s championship. The game will take place at Wexford Park at 2pm on Sunday.

About News Editor


Check Also

Clare Golf Clubs Ready For Action Once More

Derrick Lynch The first local sporting activity since the outbreak of COVID-19 is set to …