Home » Sports » Clare camogie awards presented

Clare camogie awards presented

By Seamus Hayes

ALMOST 500 people attended Clare Camogie Board’s annual dinner on Friday night, where All-star wing back Chloe Morey from Sixmilebridge was the guest of honour and presented the awards.

Clare chairman, Joe Robbins and president, Michael O’Halloran addressed the gathering at Treacy’s West County Hotel and paid tribute to all for their efforts.

The identity of the volunteer of the year and lifetime achievement award winner for 2014 were revealed; Breda Daffy, Clooney-Quin and Bridie O’Looney, Newmarket being the recipients.

Breda has been involved in the administrative side of her club since 2002, and currently holds the post of chairperson, having filled the posts of both secretary and registrar. Breda has instilled a love of camogie and club among all players over the last 10 years, which has brought the club from a position of having small numbers to winning the intermediate championship and contesting the senior county final.

Bridie O’Looney has a rich background in camogie in Clare. She started playing for Truagh-Clonlara in the 1960s, going on to win cups such as the Colleen Bawn Cup, the Egan Cup and the Aster Cup. She captained the victorious inter-firm team from EI in Shannon, and played for the Clare junior team.

In 1988, the camogie club in Newmarket was revived and Bridie’s two young daughters became players. Bridie got involved behind the scenes, attending county board meetings on behalf of her club. Bridie was instrumental in getting pitch time for training and matches for the girls, and she was a driving force in getting two ladies dressing rooms built in the 90s.

She continues to work with a number of committees, both at club and county levels. She is the child protection officer within the Newmarket club and also with Clare camogie.

The 2013 club star award winners are

Senior: Jane O’Leary – Newmarket on Fergus

Intermediate: Helen Mooney – Scariff Ogonnelloe

Junior A: Áine Dinan – Killanena/Tulla

Junior B: Vivienne Kearney – Ballyea

Minor A: Claire Hehir – Inagh Kilnamona

Minor B: Carol Minogue – Whitegate/Killanena

Minor C: Eimear Neilan – Ruan/Burren

U–16A: Rebecca Keating – Inagh Kilnamona

U–16B: Cathy Madden – Scariff Ogonnelloe

U—16C: Ellen Barry – Clarecastle

U–14A: Hannah Horgan – Truagh Clonlara

U–14B: Fiona Hayes – Scariff Ogonnelloe

U–14C: Ciara Doyle – Tulla/Bodyke

U—13A: Roisin McMahon – Killanena

U—13B: Eimear Hanrahan – St Josephs

U—13C: Cathy Casey – Ballyea

Check Also

Clare will have no fear of Derry in Croker crunch match

Having taken 30 years to contest their previous two championship appearances in GAA Headquarters, the …