Home » Sports (page 680)


It’s up to Clare County Board to explain grant decision – Cooney

GAA president Christy Cooney has placed the responsibility for explaining how the 10 Croke Park grants were distributed in Clare, firmly in the hands of the Clare County Board. The Strategic Infrastructure Funding Programme grants, worth €25,000 each, were allocated at a Clare County Board meeting on April 13. The GAA distributed €250,000 to each county resulting from the financial dividend of opening Croke Park to soccer and rugby in 2007, while Lansdowne Road was under development.The clubs were chosen by Croke Park stadium manager, Peter McKenna and Derry County Board chairman, Seamus McCloy, after the three-man committee of Johnny Hill, Ger Hickey and PJ Kelly stood down having been unable to reach a decision on which of the 24 clubs should receive a grant. Clubs had to spend in excess of €100,000 to qualify for the grant with the work completed by December 31, 2010.In last week’s Clare Champion, Kilmaley GAA club, who have spent €600,000 on development work …

Read More »

Clare fail to escape from Division 2

Clare are facing a second year in Division 2 of the National Hurling League after their disappointing loss to Wexford played before a small attendance at Semple Stadium on Sunday. With just over a month to go to a championship date with Waterford at the same venue, the prospects for Clare, based on Sunday’s poor performance, appear very slim.The result may have been in doubt right to the final whistle but, in reality, the winners created the better chances and should have won by more. Yet when two minutes of injury time were signalled at the end, there was just a point between the sides.Disaster struck, however, as Clare goalkeeper Philip Brennan fumbled and Rory Jacob pounced to score his side’s goal, which killed any lingering hopes of a Clare win.Experience played a key role in the final with Darren Stamp, Diarmuid Lyng, Eoin Quigley, particularly in the final quarter, and Rory Jacob all playing key roles for the Slaneysiders.In …

Read More »

Whitegate remain unbeaten

  Whitegate 0-11Clonlara  0-7   WHITEGATE extended their unbeaten run in the top division of the Clare Champion Cup when they beat title holders Clonlara on Monday.Goalkeeper Andrew Fahy again figured prominently amongst their scorers, this time contributing 0-5 to their tally. He converted two 65s, two from 80m and one from 100m in addition to making a couple of excellent saves.Just one point separated the sides at the interval but Whitegate were the better-balanced outfit and deserved their success. Whitegate: Andrew Fahy; Cathal Mulvihill, John Bugler, Trevor Kelly; Tommy Holland, Brendan Bugler, Jason Malone; Ian Fahy, John O’Brien; Stephen Malone, Eric Minogue, Michael O’Brien; Michael Dooley, Shane O’Rourke, Patrick Minogue.Subs: Christopher Jones for Holland; Colin Bleach for M O’Brien.Clonlara: Ger O’Connell; Senan Nihill, John Moloney, Paul Collins; Brian Woods, Paul Nihill, Diarmuid O’Meara; Tommy Lynch, Jason Murphy; Pat O’Hare, Tomás O’Donovan, William Slattery; Darach Honan, Donal Madden, Cillian Fennessy.Sub: John Barry for O’Meara. Newmarket  3-10 Clarecastle  0-10 NEWMARKET continued …

Read More »

Cratloe begin title defence

THE race for the Canon Hamilton Trophy begins this Saturday and first into action are champions Cratloe, who face Inagh-Kilnamona at Cusack Park (throw in 1.30pm). Just over 24 hours later, Wolfe Tones and Tubber will clash at the same venue. The remaining first-round games will be played a week later.Cratloe face into Saturday’s game without two first-choice members of their defence from last year. Barry Duggan, last year’s captain, and John O’Gorman are both ruled out through injury while Aidan Browne, who featured in some of their games last year, and John Murphy are also struggling to shake off injuries.Inagh-Kilnamona have a clean bill of health and will select from a full panel. This is the third year in a row that they have been drawn to play the defending champions in the first round. Two years ago they overcame Tulla while last year they failed narrowly against Clonlara. Interestingly, after a poor start to their league campaign, they …

Read More »

Cork chalk up inter-county victory

HUNDREDS of people from all over the country converged on the West County Hotel in Ennis last weekend for the Inter-County Pool Championships.Twenty-two men’s teams battled it out for the most prestigious team title in Irish pool, with a number of ladies’ teams and junior teams also competing at the event.Cork won the men’s team event, beating off stiff opposition from Wexford. John Magee, chairman of the Irish Pool Association, said it was the most exciting final of any competition they have had yet. “Cork were nine frames to one ahead when Wexford took the next eight frames, putting them level on nine frames each. Cork eventually won the match by 14 frames to 12. It was nail-biting stuff,” he commented.This is Cork’s first time winning the national title, on their first outing in the final. Wexford were national champions six times.John Columb from Cavan won the men’s title, beating Pat O’Leary from Offaly. “This was John’s fourth title, making …

Read More »

Confident Kilrush win keeps them top of the table

Kilrush 0-15Cratloe 1-6 KILRUSH scored a comprehensive six-point win over Cratloe in Kilrush last Saturday evening. The win keeps the West Clare club top of the Garry Cup table.Looking very fit, Kilrush led 0-11 to 0-3 at the interval, having played with the aid of the breeze. Cratloe, who were without Seán and Pádraig Collins, Enda Boyce and Barry Duggan, played a little better on the resumption but never threatened to overhaul the home club. Kilrush: Tony Burke; Chris Dixon, Donal O’Sullivan, Cathal Lyons; Con O’Brien, John Hayes, Matthew Moloney; Paddy Clancy, Martin Griffin; Brendan Crowley, Alan Daly, Peadar McMahon; Stephen Sweeney, Jim Young, Ruairí O’Connor.Subs: Eoin Fitzgerald, Seamus Bolton, John Ryan, Dermot O’Brien.Cratloe: Jamie Joyce; Seán Hynan, Michael Hawes, Wes de Loughrey; Liam Markham, Conor Ryan, Barry Gleeson; Kane O’Shea, Kevin Browne; Robert Conlon, Pádraig Chaplin, Dean de Loughrey; Cathal McInerney, Conor McGrath, Patrick O’Gorman.Subs: Philip Gleeson, John Lawrence Boyce, David Ryan.   Doora-Barefield 2-10Kilmihil 1-9 ST JOSEPH’S Doora-Barefield …

Read More »