Home » Sports (page 609)


Interesting pairings for U-21 footballers

The draws for the 2011 Clare U-21 football championships were made on Wednesday evening, producing some interesting pairings.The A titleholders, Ennistymon, will begin the defence of the crown with a quarter-final tie against Wolfe Tones while last year’s beaten finalists, Lissycasey, will face Éire Óg at quarter-final levelCratloe also received a bye to the last eight, where they will play the winners of the first round between Clondegad and St Joseph’s. Kilrush play Miltown in a first-round tie, with St Breckan’s taking on Kilmurry-Ibrickane in another first-round game. The winners of both of these games will meet in a quarter-final game. Eleven teams will compete for the A title, with eight battling it out for the B crown and four competing for the C title.The championships get under way on the weekend of June 25-26. U-21A: Byes: A Éire Óg; B Cratloe; C Ennistymon; D Lissycasey; E Wolfe Tones. First round: F Kilrush v Miltown; G Clondegad v St Joseph’s; …

Read More »

Hat-trick sends Crusheen clear

Crusheen 4-23   Broadford 2-8 Crusheen strolled to an easy win over Broadford in this Clare Champion Cup tie played at Crusheen on Tuesday evening. The result was never in doubt as Crusheen dictated matters throughout the field. They raced into a 1-6 to 0-0 lead before Padraig Hickey opened the East Clare side’s accountConor O’Donnell had the first Crusheen goal with a long range effort that found the net. Paddy Meaney (2), Fergus Kennedy, Shaun Dillon and Gearóid O’Doherty (2) were the point scorers. Craig Chaplin (2f) responded for Broadford before Crusheen went on a scoring spree in the second quarter adding 3-11 in 15 minutes. Paddy Meaney scored 3-1 and Gearóid O’Doherty (3) Fergus Kennedy (3), Niall Fitzgibbon (2), Alan Brigdale and Ciaran O’Doherty added points.There was little Broadford could manage in the second half when Alan Brigdale and Ciaran O’Doherty shone in the Crusheen defence with Gerry O’Grady and Fergus Kennedy controlling midfield. Padraig Hickey scored a great …

Read More »

Draws made for Munster finals

THE draws for the Munster Community Games finals were made last week. The finals will take place on Saturday, July 9 in the University of Limerick and will be hosted by the Limerick committee this year.The draws are as follows:Basketball: U-11: Kerry v Cork with winners to play Tipperary; Clare v Limerick; boys U-13: Cork v Limerick with winners to play Tipperary; Clare v Kerry; girls U-13: Clare v Tipperary with winners to play Kerry; Cork v Limerick; boys U-16: Kerry v Limerick with winners to play Tipperary; Cork v Clare; girls U-16: Cork v Clare with winners to play Limerick; Kerry v Tipperary.Camogie: Tipperary v Kerry with winners to play Cork; Limerick v Clare.Futsal: Boys U-13: Clare v Kerry and Tipperary v Limerick; girls U-13: Clare v Limerick with winners to play Tipperary; Kerry v Clare.Gaelic football: Mixed U-10: Limerick v Tipperary with winners to play Kerry; Cork v Clare; girls U-12: Limerick v Kerry with winners to play …

Read More »

Cosgrove wins Ennis captain’s prize

Peter Cosgrove captured the captain’s (Mike Butler) prize at Ennis on Sunday, winning by a stroke from Noel Normoyle on 101.5, with Michael Neylon a further stroke back in third spot. They were followed by BA Considine with 104, Val Bredin with 104, John McCarthy with 106.5, Martin O’Neill with 107, Tony Molloy with 107, John Nevin with 107 and Gary Walsh with 107.5.Pat Murphy won the gross with 73 from Noel Pyne on 75. John Fitzpatrick won category 1 with 71 nett, with Liam Behan winning category 2 with 67 and Fintan McEvoy winning category 3 with 67.Kevin Boland was the leading qualifier with 68 while other prizewinners were Steve Burns with 110 nett (past captains) Johnny Cullinan with 108 (seniors) and Pat McCarthy (guests). The competition, played for over Saturday and Sunday, attracted a huge entry.The winners of the captain’s fourball were Enda Heaney and Kieran Ryan with 43 points from Joe O’Brien and Tony Coote, who had …

Read More »

Alice sets new national record

AT the All-Ireland Schools Track and Field Championships held in Tullamore on Saturday, a new national record was set by Alice Akers (Scariff Community College) with four throws were better than the (46.33m) record of Gabby McNally set in  2007. She had throws of (47.09m), (48.09m), and (49.02m) in the first three rounds of the junior discus to record a great win. She followed that with another gold medal in the javelin with a throw of (34.15m).Eoin Hanrahan (St Flannan’s) produced six fine throws in the shot putt to capture a bronze medal with a throw of (12.76m) and he also took bronze in the junior boys discus with a throw of (40.07m).Darragh Lynch (St Flannan’s) captured a bronze medal in the senior boys’ 800m with a time of 1.55:60 with Niamh Markham (St Flannan’s) also taking a bronze medal in the intermediate girls’ 800m in (2.16:94).Amy O’Donoghue (Meelick and Villiers Schools Limerick) won gold in the senior girls’ 800m …

Read More »

Record-breaking run by Definate Opinion

THE record-breaking run by dual Cesarewitch winner Definate Opinion (Surf Lorian-Josiva) was the big talking point after first-round heats of the 2011 Kerry Agribusiness Irish St Leger were decided at the Limerick Greyhound Racing Stadium last weekend. His winning time in heat three was 29.54, three spots quicker than the record set by Farley Turbo in winning last year’s Irish Leger.Trained by Pat Guilfoyle for Finola Richardson, Doon, he got off got off to a flyer from trap four to lead Judicial Academy and Varra Cpatain down the back. At the line, the new record holder had five lengths on Judicial Academy with Varra Captain two lengths back for third place.As expected the unbeaten Ocean Crash (Crash- Ocean Lucky) owned and trained by Tom Fitzgerald, Jnr in Parteen, won the opening heat in a time of 29.98. He led from the second bend to take the race by two lengths from Aranock Hand.Showing good early pace in heat two, Holly …

Read More »

Hard-fought victory for Clonlara

CLARE SENIOR HURLING CHAMPIONSHIP GROUP 1Clonlara   2-13   Broadford   0-14This meeting of neighbours Clonlara and Broadford at Cusack Park on Sunday evening produced plenty of talking points, not least the fact that 10 yellow cards and one red were produced by referee Johnnie Healy.

Read More »

Improved Cratloe eclipse Scariff

CLARE SENIOR HURLING CHAMPIONSHIP GROUP 2 Cratloe 0-16Scariff 0-10 CRATLOE got their title challenge back on track when they overcame the challenge of Scariff in this contest played at Sixmilebridge on Sunday. After their loss to Tubber in the opening round, the champions of 2009 knew that another defeat would leave them struggling to make the play-offs and this was reflected in their play, which was much improved.That said, Scariff, who were having their first outing in this season’s race for the Canon Hamilton Trophy, made things very difficult for them and were well in this contest right to the end. The winners showed the greater scoring ability, which proved decisive, with Conor McGrath and Cathal McInerney accounting for 0-11 of their total.The winners raced into a four-point lead with scores from McGrath (3) and McInerney before Ross Horan opened Scariff’s account from a 65 at the end of the opening quarter. From here to half-time there was little between …

Read More »
error: Content is protected !!