Kilrush Credit Union
Home » News (page 1088)


Final result – 2.04am

Carey and Dooley take final seats Deputy Joe Carey from Fine Gael has taken the third seat in the Clare constituency. He got 1,528 of Deputy Pat Breen’s surplus to bring him to 12,489, exceeding the quota, on the 12th count. Fianna Fail’s Timmy Dooley took the final seat with 11,021 votes. He comfortably beat off independent James Breen who reached a final vote of 9,520.

Read More »

Eleventh count – 1.15am

Pat Breen and Michael McNamara elected exceeding the quota on eleventh count. Fine Gael TD Pat Breen has taken the first seat in Clare exceeding the quota by more than 1,700 votes. Labour first-time general election candidate Michael McNamara also exceeded the quota finishing on 11,883. Pat Breen’s surplus of 1,750 is now being redistributed.

Read More »

Counting delayed in Clare

Counting of votes in the Clare constituency has stopped temporarily after reports of a mix up of bundles votes between Fine Gael’s Pat Breen and independent James Breen. Concerns were raised that transfers for James Breen had ended up in the box for Pat Breen. James Breen was expected to be eliminated in the 11th count and Pat Breen was on target to top the poll. More information as it emerges.  

Read More »

Noonan tops poll in Limerick City

Fine Gael’s finance spokesperson Michael Noonan topped the poll in newly-formed Limerick City constituency which incorporates part of South East Clare. The former Fine Gael leader got more than 30% first-preference votes. He was elected on the first count exceeding the quota with 13,291 votes. The quota in Limerick City was 8,638. His running mate Kieran O’Donnell was elected on the fifth count. Also elected were former Defence Minister Willie O’Dea on the sixth count and Labour’s Jan O’Sullivan on the seventh.  

Read More »

Dooley to edge out independent Breen?

Fianna Fail TD Timmy Dooley will likely keep his seat after getting more than 3,500 transfers from running mate Dr John Hillery. Deputy Dooley now has more than 10,500 votes less than Fine Gael’s Pat Breen who looks set to take the first seat but more than Labour’s Michael McNamara who is on 10,552. Fine Gael councillor Tony Mulcahy’s votes are now being redistributed, numbering in excess of 7,400. His transfers are likely to see deputies Breen and Carey re elected alongside Labour newcomer Michael McNamara and result in sitting Fianna Fail TD Timmy Dooley returned. For the second election running it seems that independent James Breen will lose out for the fourth and final seat.

Read More »