Home » Breaking News » CAMOGIE: Coláiste Muire storm into Munster decider
Mary Hanrahan of Coláiste Muire, Ennis, is chased by the Laurel Hill defence during their Munster Senior B Championship semi final at Lees Road. Photograph by John Kelly

CAMOGIE: Coláiste Muire storm into Munster decider

Munster Senior B Post-Primary Schools Camogie Championship Semi-Final

Coláiste Muire, Ennis 4-19 Laurel Hill (Limerick) 2-7

COLÁISTE Muire powered into a Munster Senior B decider following a commanding victory over Laurel Hill in a floodlit John O’Sullivan Park, Ennis this evening, reports Eoin Brennan.

Two years after falling at the final hurdle of the provincial junior C equivalent, the Ennis school demonstrated the significant strides made in the intervening period when leading from start to finish in impressive fashion.

An outstanding central quintet of Tierna Hegarty, Ellen Casey, Aisling Moloney, Emily Costelloe and Emma Considine were greatly aided by Hannah Doyle and Mary Hanrahan as Coláiste Muire moved incrementally through the gears.

Firing the first five points, the home side were pegged back by a scrambled goal for Jayne Meaney just before the water break at 0-6 to 1-0, a score that would be wiped out when Emma Considine cooly dispatched a 19th minute penalty to the left corner after a foul on full-forward Mary Hanrahan. A further brace of Emily Costelloe points stretched the gap to seven, only for a stubborn Laurel Hill to respond with another goal, this time through Truagh-Clonlara’s Niamh Ryan albeit that six points still separated the sides by half-time at 1-11 to 2-2.

Any thoughts of a Laurel Hill backlash were quickly quashed as Coláiste Muire again commenced with five unanswered points through as many scorers (Aisling Moloney, Emily Costelloe, Emma Quinn, Emma O’Loughlin and Emma Considine).

A second goal through Emma Quinn ensured a seemingly unassailable 14 point cushion by the turn of the final quarter at 2-18 to 2-4, with the clinching blows coming immediately on the restart when Mary Hanrahan and Aisling Moloney added majors in the space of a minute.

To their credit, Laurel Hill never dropped their heads and through the strong leadership of Liz Anna Boylan, finished with the last three points, two of which could have easily been goals.

However, it’s Coláiste Muire that march onto the Munster Senior B Final against the winners of tomorrow’s semi-final between St Mary’s Nenagh and Coláiste an Phiarsaigh, Glanmire, with the decider scheduled for this Saturday, a fixture that would cause a potential clash with Clooney-Quin’s Munster Junior Club Semi-Final against Clanmaurice.

Coláiste Muire: Grace McMahon (Newmarket-on-Fergus); Sinead Hastings (Ruan), Hannah Doyle (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield), Lauren Cahill (Kilmaley); Leanne Healy (Kilmaley), Tierna Hegarty (Inagh-Kilnamona), Karlene McGerr (Inagh-Kilnamona); Ellen Casey (Newmarket-on-Fergus), Aisling Moloney (Ruan); Emma Considine (Clooney-Quin), Emily Costelloe (Clooney-Quin), Muireann Daffy (Inagh-Kilnamona); Emma Quinn (Clooney-Quin), Mary Hanrahan (Crusheen), Emma O’Loughlin (Clarecastle) Subs: Caoimhe Ryan (Banner) for McGerr (43, inj), Kate Forde (Ruan) for Quinn (48), Elisha Rynne (Inagh-Kilnamona) for O’Loughlin (48), Claudine Lynch (Banner) for Healy (52), Cara McInerney (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Daffy (52)

Scorers: Emma Considine (1-8, 1-0 Pen, 8f); Emma Quinn, Aisling Moloney (1-2 each); Emily Costelloe (0-4); Mary Hanrahan (1-1); Emma O’Loughlin, Muireann Daffy (0-1 each)

Laurel Hill: Sophie Cullen (Truagh-Clonlara); Grace Palmer (Na Piarsaigh), Kathryn Galvin (Truagh-Clonlara), Sarah Meade (Truagh-Clonlara); Lauren Slater (Truagh-Clonlara), Caoimhe Lally (Newmarket-on-Fergus), Aoife Dillon (Truagh-Clonlara); Muireann Leahy (Crecora), Rachel O’Connor; Orla Hickey (Na Piarsaigh), Liz Anna Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Carla Griffin (Adare); Niamh Ryan (Truagh-Clonlara), Jayne Meaney (Na Piarsaigh), Alex Condron (Truagh-Clonlara) Subs: Paige Nash (Crecora) for Griffin (21), Ava Kiely (Adare) for Meaney (39), Caoimhe Hennessy (Mungret St Paul’s) (48)

Scorers: Liz Anna Boylan (0-6, 1 Pen, 4f); Jayne Meaney, Niamh Ryan (1-0 each); Muireann Leahy (0-1f)

Referee: Noel Quinn (Gort)

Check Also

Clare’s charms to feature on popular American travel show

THE tourism attractions of Clare and Limerick are to be highlighted to a potential audience …