Home » Sports » A first under 14 A title for Clooney-Quin
Clooney Quin players celebrate on the final whistle following their U-14A final win over Sixmilebridge in Cusack Park. Photograph by John Kelly.

A first under 14 A title for Clooney-Quin

Clooney-Quin 2-15 Sixmilebridge 2-6

History was made at Cusack Park this Friday evening when Clooney-Quin won the under 14 A Clare hurling championship for the first time, beating a fancied Sixmilebridge team in the process.

On their way to winning the Clare feile na nGael title two weeks ago, Sixmilebridge had pipped Clooney-Quin and they went into this evening’s final carrying the favourites tag.

Clooney-Quin took control from the start and raced into a 0-3 to 0-0 lead before Sixmilebridge opened their account. The winners, however, dictated matters and led 0-8 to 0-1 with just nine minutes played.

Sixmilebridge received a great boost in the twentieth minute when David Kennedy struck for a goal but within a minute Clooney-Quin had replied with a like score from their full forward Shane Harrisson and they went on to lead by nine points at half time when the score was 1-10 to 1-1.

The winners had the first score of the second half but then the Bridge hit three unanswered points as they piled on the pressure but these s cores were cancelled out in the tenth minute when Harrisson struck for his second goal.

To their credit Sixmilebridge battled on but they simply could not break down a well organised and balanced Clooney-Quin outfit all of whose tally on the evening came from play.

In a well organised defence, Andrew Considine, Callum Beirne and Donagh O’Sullivan led the way. Team captain Colm Cassidy excelled at midfield while up front Sean McGrath and Shane Harrisson were outstanding.

Cian Fawl, Dylan Downes, Storim Devanney and David Kennedy tried hard for Sixmilebridge but, on the evening, Clooney-Quin dictated matters and fully deserved their win.

After the game Joe Pender on behalf of the underage hurling board presented the cup to the winning captain Colm Cassidy.

Clooney-Quin; Cormac O’Halloran; Callum Beirne, Andrew Considine, Matthew McNamara; John Conneally, Donagh O’Sullivan, Eoin Guilfoyle; Colm Cassidy (captain) 0-1, Darragh Keogh (0-2); Dylan Cunningham (0-2), Tomas O’Cearbhallain (0-3), Sean McGrath (0-3); Conal Egan (0-1), Shane Harrisson (2-3) Ben Harrington;

Subs; Callum Hassett for Harrington; Liam Keating for Cunningham, Martin Frain for Connealy.

Sixmilebridge; Cian Fawl (0-1); Colm Flynn, Sean McNamara, Ferdia O’Lionain; Scott Kirkland, Darragh Toomey, Evan O’Callaghan; Luke Keogh, Storim Devanney; Matthew Hurley, Dylan Downes,(captain) David Kennedy (1-3); EvanMurphy (0-2), Leon Kelly, Luke O’Halloran (1-0);

Subs; Colin Kelly for O’Callaghan; Noel Flynn for Keogh; Conor Morey for Kirkland, Adam Murray for Kennedy, Cian Gleeson for O’Halloran

Referee; Jarlath Donnellan, Wolfe Tones.

By Seamus Hayes

Check Also

Semi-final spots up for grabs in race for Canon Hamilton

Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Finals Newmarket-on-Fergus v Wolfe Tones @ Cusack Park, Saturday 1.30pm A golden …