Home » Sports » 29 teams compete for U-21 titles

29 teams compete for U-21 titles

By Seamus Hayes

TWENTY-nine  teams will compete for three U-21 hurling championship titles in Clare in 2014.

The draw for the A, B and C competitions was made at Clare GAA headquarters in Clareabbey on Monday evening and threw up some interesting pairings.

Fellow parishioners Clarecastle and Ballyea will meet in a quarter final tie in the race for the A title. Another interesting quarter final clash should ensue when Kilmaley take on neighbours Inagh-Kilnamona.

In all, there will be ten teams in the race for the A title with thirteen battling it out for the B crown leaving six to compete for the C title.

The first games in all grades will take place on the weekend of March 1 and 2.

The pairings are:

U-21 A—Clonlara v O’C. Mills/Bodyke with the winners to play Newmarket in the quarter final; Clooney-Quin play Eire Og with the winners to play Sixmilebridge; Inagh-Kilnamona v Kilmaley and Clarecastle v Ballyea.

U-21 B—Byes to A—O’C. Mills, B—St. Josephs and C—Broadford;

Round 1—D—Parteen v Whitegate; E—Cratloe v Scariff-Ogonnelloe; F—Crusheen/Tubber v Wolfe Tones; G—Tulla v Corofin/Ruan; H—Feakle-Killanena v Smith O’Brien’s

Quarter Finals—G v F; B v H; A v D; E v C;

U-21 C—Clooney-Quin v Meelick with the winners to play Ballyea; Ennistymon v Sixmilebridge with the winners to play St Joseph’s

Check Also

Two Scariff-Ogonnelloe players on club team of the year

TWO Scariff-Ogonnelloe players, Susan Vaughan and Mairéad Scanlan, have been selected on the 2019/2020 AIB …

error: Content is protected !!