Home » Sports » 14 point win for Clare footballers
David Tubridy returns from injury for Saturday's game against Longford at Cusack park

14 point win for Clare footballers

Clare 3-21 Carlow 2-10

IMPRESSIVE in attack yet occasionally porous defensively, the Clare senior footballers eased to a 14 point win over Carlow in Cusack Park on Sunday afternoon. This win, coupled with Leitrim’s defeat at home to Tipperary has ensured that a win for Clare away to Antrim next Sunday, will guarantee promotion to division 3 for 2015.

In fact following Leitrim’s comprehensive defeat to Tipperary in Carrick on Shannon, Wicklow are now Clare’s primary promotion rivals. They play already promoted Tipperary at home next Sunday, needing a win to put the pressure on Clare.

Clare led 1-10 to 2-4 at half time against Carlow. David Tubridy scored the winners first half goal and added three pointed frees, while Martin O’Leary and Seán Collins kicked a brace apiece in the opening period. Shane McGrath, Gary Brennan and Shane Hickey added first half points with the latter issued with a black card after the Kilmurry Ibrickane man pulled down Ciaran Moran to give away a 26th minute penalty.

The penalty was buried by Seamus Kinsella who also scored Carlow’s first goal, when Clare failed to cut out a high delivery into the square.

In the second period Clare’s fitness levels told and they outscored Carlow 2-11 to 0-6. Martin O’Leary and Gary Brennan scored the goals while the same players along with Tubridy, Jamie Malone and Cathal O’Connor completed the winners points tally.

Clare lined out without Martin McMahon, Podge Collins and Óige Murphy, all of whom may be fit to feature in the final league game in Belfast.

Clare: Pierce Deloughrey (Cratloe); Dean Ryan (Éire Óg), Kevin Hartnett (Meelick), Brian Carrig (Clondegad); Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s, Miltown), Ciaran Russell (Éire Óg); Gary Brennan (Clondegad – captain), Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen); Seán Collins (Cratloe), Jamie Malone (Corofin), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis); Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), David Tubridy (Doonbeg), Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane).

Subs: Shane McNeilis (Kildysart) for Shane Hickey – black card (22), Michael O’Shea (Kilkee) for Jamie Malone (46), Darren O’Neill (Éire Óg) for Martin O’Leary (inj – 50), Stephen Collins (Doora-Barefield) for Brian Carrig (62), Keith O’Connor (Kildysart) for Cathal O’Connor (67).

Scorers: David Tubridy (1-9, 0-5f), Martin O’Leary (1-5, 0-2f), Gary Brennan (1-1), Seán Collins (0-2), Shane McGrath, Shane Hickey, Jamie Malone, Cathal O’Connor (0-1 each).

Black card: Shane Hickey

Yellow cards: Gordon Kelly.

45s: 1

Carlow: Pat Coady; Barry John Molloy, Shane Mernagh, David Kinsella; Richard Mahon; Hugh Gahan,  Graham Power; Willie Minchin, David Bambrick; Cathal Coughlan, Daniel St Ledger, Ciaran Moran; Paul Broderick, Michael Meaney, Seamus Kinsella.

Subs: Darragh Foley for Willie Minchin (40), Jack Kennedy for Cathal Coughlan, Jason Kane for Ciaran Moran (both 51), Ronan O’Brien for Michael Meaney, Jordan Lowry (both 62).

Scorers: Seamus Kinsella (2-1, 1-0 pen, 0-1 f), Paul Broderick (0-6, 0-5f), Ciaran Moran (0-2), Willie Minchin (0-1).

Black card: Shane Mernagh

Yellow cards: Daniel St Ledger, Willie Minchin, Paul Broderick.

Red card: Daniel St Ledger.

Referee: James Molloy (Galway).

About Colin McGann

Check Also

Clare face bogey side in football qualifiers

Clare will face Meath in Round One of the Football qualifiers after this morning’s draw …