Home » Sports » Clare ladies travel to Kildare

Clare ladies travel to Kildare

Clare will play Kildare in Eadestown on Sunday in round four of the ladies NFL Division 2.

Both teams need a win if they are to have a chance of making the knockout stages of the league. To date,  Clare have only picked up a single point from their opening matches against Armagh, Down and Tipperary. Clare drew with Down away but lost to Armagh and Tipperary at home.
This weekend Clare are likely to be without goalkeeper Emma O’Driscoll, Sarah Hoey, who has exams, while Sineád Kelly is a couple of weeks away from making a comeback.
Clare will have some additional options however as Fiona Lafferty, Michelle Delaney and Grace Lynch are all available again.
In their last game against Tipperary in Meelick, Clare played some good football but were beaten by a slicker, physically stronger team.
Kildare have beaten Meath but lost to Tipperary and Armagh to date. Therefore both teams will feel that Sunday’s game is very winnable.
While the winner will have a chance of making the semi-final of the league, whoever loses will be threatened by relegation.
Clare’s next game, after this weekend, will be at home to Donegal on Saturday week, March 13.
Sunday’s game in Eadestown will throw-in at 2pm.


Clare U-14s take on Tipperary
The Clare Ladies U-14 team will play Tipperary on Sunday at 2pm in Newmarket-on-Fergus, in the first round of the Munster championship.
The following is the Clare panel for the game: Sinead Considine, Roisín Considine (Liscannor); Aoife O’Neill, Claire Chadda, Orla Devitt (Éire Óg); Laura Rynne (Miltown); Ann Marie Hayes (Newmarket); Katie Connole (Burren Gaels); Rebecca Devine, Eimear Casey, Ciara Davenport (Doora-Barefield); Siobhan Marrinan, Gráinne Harvey, Marie Foran (West Clare Gaels); Áine Looney (Cooraclare); Doireann Hennessy, Aoibheann Malone, Gráinne Nolan, Aoife Keane, Eva O’Dea, Elaine Casey, Karen Roche (Banner Ladies); Rebecca Mahon (Kilmihil); Carla Behan (Shannon Gaels); Tara Comber, Niamh Sexton (Kilmurry/Ibrickane); Martha Hanrahan, Rianna Lillis (Doonbeg); Jane Taylor (Clooney-Quin); Rachel O’Toole (Wolfe Tones); Fionnuala Nagle (Fergus Rovers); Gillian Finucane (Coolmeen); Jenny Ryan, Áine Browne, Aoife Carrig (Kilrush).

About News Editor


Check Also

Newmarket Celtic Bidding To Secure Historic Provincial Silverware

Newmarket Celtic will look to put provincial silverware on the board for the first time …

error: Content is protected !!