Home » Info

Info

Information pertaining to the Clare Champion

Clare Champion News Feeds

You can now subscribe to the latest news from The Clare Champion using any RSS newsreader, such as Google Reader. Sorry, news feeds are temporarily suspended. We hope to have them back in working order shortly. Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Read More »

Advertising

  Columns 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Width in Millimetres 40 82.5 125 167.5 210 252.5 295 337.5   Publication details Production Broadsheet – 8 columns Page Size 337.5mm x 540mm Published weekly on Friday Inserts accepted Street day: Thursday morning Display Copy deadline: Tue 3.00pm Mono, 12 noon Colour. Acknowledgement/Anniversary deadline Monday 5.00pm. Full colour available Email queries to sales@clarechampion.ie Cover price €2.00 (incl VAT @ 13.5%) Copy preferred as high resolution pdf   Classified Rates (including VAT) For Sale, Wanted etc. (first 15 words) €10.00 Accommodation ads. (first 15 words) €12.00 Trades Classified (15 words) €12.00 Births, Anniversaries & Deaths (first 70 words) €16.00 Acknowledgements with Cross & Border (first 100 words) €40.00 + Photographs €5.00 Per word extra €0.40 Box Numbers €5.00 Planning Notices €50.00 Planning Notices over 5cm will be charged per single column cm. The Clare Champion Barrack Street, Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland. Tel.: +353 65 6828105 Fax: +353 65 6820374 Email: sales@clarechampion.ie

Read More »

Subscription Rates

Subscribing to The Clare Champion allows you to enjoy your favourite regional newspaper no matter where you live. Newspapers are sent by surface or airmail each Thursday ensuring the timely arrival of each issue. Why not buy a subscription for a friend or relative? Our Current Rates Ireland & N. Ireland €180 Britain €280 Europe €340 Rest of the world: Priority Post €420 Economy Post €340 These prices are for one year and include postage. Send your order to: Circulation Department The Clare Champion Barrack Street Ennis Co. Clare Ireland. accounts@clarechampion.ie Payment is accepted by cheque, money/postal order or credit card. You can fax your credit card details to +353 656820374.

Read More »

A brief history of The Clare Champion

The Phoenix in the centre of The Clare Champion masthead has a special significance. The Phoenix was a mythological bird sacred to the sun, which was reborn from the ashes of the funeral pyre. It epitomised the power of self-regeneration. The Clare Champion’s phoenix represents the re-birth in March 1903, of a nationalist voice in Clare after The Clare Man was forced to close. The Clare Man, first published seven years previously, was involved in a libel action. There was no money to meet the costs and the property and equipment, including the precious typeface had to be sold. It looked as if a strong and forceful nationalist voice had been silenced. But the Editor of The Clare Man, Mr. Tom Galvin, and his staff decided otherwise. On the week that the assets of the old paper were being auctioned, they went to work and produced the first edition of The Clare Champion. The phoenix had certainly risen from the …

Read More »

Contact Us

The Clare Champion Ltd. Postal Address:Barrack Street, Ennis, County Clare, Ireland. Phone:Tel  +353 65 682 8105        Fax +353 65 682 0374.   Managing Director John Galvin, jgalvin @clarechampion.ie   Accounts Department Accounts Manager: Liam Duggan, lduggan @clarechampion.ie Accounts Representative: Shelly Galvin, sgalvin @clarechampion.ie   Sales Department sales @clarechampion.ie Advertising Manager: Ollie O’Regan, ooregan @clarechampion.ie Advertising Sales: Pauline Keogh, pkeogh @clarechampion.ie Advertising Sales: Alan Harvey, aharvey @clarechampion.ie Advertising Sales: Silla Lernihan, slernihan @clarechampion.ie Newsroom Editor: Austin Hobbs, editor @clarechampion.ie Deputy Editor: Gerry McInerney, gmcinerney @clarechampion.ie Sports Editor: Seamus Hayes, shayes @clarechampion.ie Sports/West Clare Correspondent: Peter O’Connell, poconnell @clarechampion.ie South East Clare Correspondent: Dan Danaher, ddanaher @clarechampion.ie Ennis: Jessica Quinn jquinn @clarechampion.ie South Galway/North Clare Correspondent: Nicola Corless, ncorless @clarechampion.ie East Clare Correspondent: Carol Byrne, cbyrne @clarechampion.ie Shannon Correspondent: Owen Ryan, oryan @clarechampion.ie   Letters to the Editor:Please note that if you are sending a letter to the editor for publication we also require your mailing address and a telephone number for verification.   Where we …

Read More »