Home » Sports » Another title for Shannon

Another title for Shannon

Clarecastle's Samara O'Callaghan and Caoimhe Morrissey of Ballyea limber out before the Eamon Moloney 10km memorial Run4Life race  in aid of the Clare Cancer Support Centre in Kilnamona. Photograph by John KellyThe 10k run-jog-walk on Saturday last, starting at Ennis CBS in aid of Clare Cancer Support Centre Kilnamona, was a great success with 520 competitors starting out.

Michael Shannon and Kenneth Rodgers (both St John’s) were shoulder-to-shoulder from the start and went through the first kilometre in 3.03. Fergal Smithwick (Marian) was in close pursuit along with James Murphy (Tulla), now running with Crusaders AC Dublin and the leading lady Barbara Sanchez (Raheny Shamrocks AC Dublin).

The leaders went through the 3k mark in 9.30 and Shannon passed halfway in 15.40. Over the second half of the race, he was in control up front and arrived back at the finish line in 31.20, with Kenneth Rodgers second in 31.41 and James Murphy third in 33.58.

The race had a huge female entry and Barbara Sanchez was running in the top six in the early stages with the Munster masters four-mile road champion Angela McCann (Clonmel) a few places further back. Dympna Ryan (Dundrum, Tipperary) led the second group that included Veronica Colleran, Anna Crooks, Cushla Brid Hehir (all Ennis Track) and Tracy Guilfoyle (Kilnaboy).

Sanchez went through the 5k mark in 18.01 and came home a very good winner in 35.25. A very strong finish from Angela McCann took second spot in 36.58, while Dympna Ryan took third in 37.25. The first Clare woman was Anna Crooks (Ennis Track) in fourth position in 37.58.

Pat Tierney (Kilkishen), for the second week-in-a-row, won the wheelchair race in 38.01.

Senior Ladies: 1.
Barbara Sanchez, Raheny Shamrocks (35.25); 2. Angela McCann, Clonmel (36.58); 3. Dympna Ryan, Dundrum (37.25); 4. Anna Crooks, Ennis Track (37.58); 5. Veronica Colleran, Ennis Track (38.30); 6. Cushla Brid Hehir, Ennis Track (39.02); 7. Tracy Guilfoyle, Kilnaboy (39.37); 8. Siobhan Lennon, Ennis Track (39.44); 9. Lorraine Nolan, Rathfarnham WSAF (40.41); 10. Imogen Cotter, Ennis Track (40.59); 11. Laura Schwirz, Crusaders (41.06); 12. Grace Eade, Ennis Track (41.58); Team Ennis Track (4, 5, 9, 12) = 30pts.
Senior Men: 1. Michael Shannon, St John’s (31.20); 2. Kenneth Rodgers, St John’s (31.41); 3. James Murphy, Tulla/Crusaders AC (33.58); 4. Thomas Grimes, Limerick (34.11); 5. Fergal Smithwick, Marian (34.47); 6. Andrew Crooks, Phoenix UK (35.41); 7. Brian Murphy, Ennis Track (36.13); 8. Eddie Newman, Mullingar Harriers (36.15); 9. Mike Cunningham, Bilboa (36.19); 10. Mark Daly, Ennis Track (36.28); 11. Colm Daly, Ennis Track (36.42); 12. Ian Kelly, West Limerick (36.49); Team Ennis Track (7, 10, 11, 13. Frank Landy) = 41pts.
Wheelchair: 1. Pat Tierney, Kilkishen (38.01).

About News Editor


Check Also

Champion Sports Chat Podcast Monday April 22nd 2019

Coming up on this week’s podcast: Clare Camogie PRO Brid McNamara is in studio to …

error: Content is protected !!