Home » Sports » A night to remember for Cratloe GAA

A night to remember for Cratloe GAA

Former Cratloe player Pat O’Gorman with members of the current panels at Cratloe’s victory banquet.Cratloe GAA celebrated a truly memorable year in the club’s history at the West County Hotel in Ennis last week when the Clare senior hurling (Hamilton Cup), intermediate football (Talty Stores Cup) and U-21 A football (Jim Marrinan Cup) trophies were on display.

In the cases of the senior hurling and U-21 football competitions, 2009 marked the first time that Cratloe won either title.
Two of the county’s best-known former players, Jackie O’Gorman and Martin Murphy, presented the medals to the members of the victorious panels. Jackie hurled for Clare and Munster for a long number of years and he has served as a mentor with various teams in his native parish on many occasions. Kilmihil native Martin Murphy played football for Clare and Munster and has been actively involved as a mentor with a selection of teams since taking up residence in Cratloe.
Cratloe captains Kevin Browne, Barry Gleeson and Barry Duggan make their way to the reception at Cratloe GAA’s victory banquet. Photograph by Declan MonaghanClare GAA secretary Pat Fitzgerald congratulated the management and players involved with the club’s memorable successes during 2009. He said Cratloe were an example to all, highlighting what can be achieved in both hurling and football with the proper commitment and dedication. He expressed the view that if the present squads stay together, a lot more successes will be achieved.
Club chairman Pat O’Gorman made presentations to the surviving members of the Cratloe 1959 junior championship winning team that defeated Clonlara in the final
Presentations were also made to Sean Collins, Conor McGrath and Liam Markham who were part of the Clare All-Ireland U-21 winning team.
The members of the respective management teams were also honoured with a presentation including Mike Deegan, John Gleeson, Michael O’Gorman, Brian McMahon, Fiach O’Loughlin (hurling); Colm Collins, Seán O’Dea, Jerome De Loughrey, Martin Murphy and Ger Lawlor (football). Presentations were also made to Jack Chaplin who had served as chairman for 14 years up to the end of 2008, secretary Siobhan O’Gorman, treasurer Mary Considine and PRO Jim Enright for their work.
There was a special presentation for long serving club member John Ryan. A former club secretary, he went on to serve in a variety of positions for Clare GAA while, more recently, he served as secretary of the Cratloe pitch development committee and chairman of the sports hall committee.

About News Editor

Check Also

Gold for Emma in Abu Dhabi

AT the 2019 Special Olympics World Summer Games in Abu Dhabi, Team Ireland got off …